HomeMobilesSingapore is the latest country to board Samsung Pay

Singapore is the latest country to board Samsung Pay

Samsung has announced that its payment service, Samsung Pay will officially launch in Singapore on June 16. It will directly compete with rival Apple Pay, which was rolled out in country back in April.

Samsung has beta tested education sessions at major stores in Singapore and the payment service will be available in 40 major franchises including supermarkets, department stores, beauty shops, restaurants, clothes stores, electronics stores, and travel agencies.

Samsung also said it tied up with MasterCard, Visa, Citibank, DBS/POSB, OCBC Bank, and Standard Chartered for the launch day.

The Payment service was first launched in its home nation South Korea back in August 2015, and only after a month it was expanded in US. Samsung Pay further expanded in China, where the tech giant partnered with AliPay to increase availability there. After that, Spain became the first European country to get the taste of Samsung Pay. Thus, Singapore became the fifth country and the first nation of Southeast Asia to get the mobile payment service.

Australia is also expected to get Samsung Pay next week, though the company has not confirmed a date for an official kickoff.

Previous post
Samsung Galaxy Note 7 to be Unveiled on 2nd August
Next post
WWDC 2016: Most Important Announcements